14
jun
10

Frequentes Questões Perguntadas a Richelle Mead

A nossa querida Richelle Mead postou no seu site algumas respostas das perguntas mais feitas para ela. Confiram!!

How many books will be in each series?
Things always change, but here is the current plan for my three series:

Georgina Kincaid series – There will be 6 total in the series
Vampire Academy series – There will be 6 total in the series, with possibly a spin-off series
Dark Swan series – Unknown at this point! Most likely there will be 4 total

Are you going to make a movie out of your books?
Unfortunately, this isn’t something I can just do on my own. For there to be a movie or TV show, a production company needs to approach me and offer to buy film rights. So far, only Succubus Blues has sold film rights, which were to Fox TV. Even then, no guarantees of a show exist. None of my other series have sold film rights, so cross your fingers that a film company offers to buy them! YouTube rumors about a VA movie are exactly that: rumors. There are no plans to make one right now.

Who’s on the covers of the Vampire Academy books?
Covers are designed by a book company’s art department and are something I have little say about. Since everyone has different ideas about how characters look, the art department’s ideas may not quite match the books’ descriptions or your ideas. Or, the art department may not have even read the book.

Vampire Academy – Rose
Frostbite – The girl is Rose, and the guy is a mystery even to me. Without the red eyes, he’d be Christian. He’s too young to be Isaiah.
Shadow Kiss – Lissa and Dimitri are on the old version; Rose is supposed to be on the new one.
Blood Promise – Rose
Spirit Bound – Rose and ???

When is the next Vampire Academy book coming out?
The sixth and last book about Rose, Last Sacrifice, will be out December 7, 2010.  It will be followed by a spin-off VA series.  Information can be found on the Vampire Academy page.

When is the next Georgina book coming out?
The sixth book in the series is untitled and will be out in 2011. More info will be posted as it becomes available  on the Georgina Kincaid page.

When is the next Dark Swan book coming out?
The third book, Iron Crowned, will be out in early 2011. Information about books after that can be found on the Dark Swan page.

Why can’t you come do a signing in my city?
Travel is extremely expensive, even for one night, once you add up airfare and hotel costs. My publishers pay for my big tours, but they’re on budgets too and choose cities based on city size and relationships with bookstores. I occasionally set up signings myself, and since I live on the west coast, it is easier for me to travel around this area. Also, if I’m on vacation, I’ll try to do a signing wherever I go–but I don’t have the time or money to visit every place. I truly wish I could visit everywhere because I LOVE meeting readers, but I’m afraid it’s just not possible! A list of my current signings and travel can be found on my calendar page.
Are your books available outside the United States?
They are indeed! Please see my international page for more information.
Are there Kindle, ebook, or audio versions of your books?
FYI – this is something I do not have control over, nor do I have any information on release dates of future books in any of these formats. I usually find out about them when you do.  To my knowledge, almost all books are available in Kindle/ebook format.  All will eventually be in audio, but only some are right now.  I have no info on those release dates.
How did you get started writing?
I’ve wanted to write for my entire life. When I was little, I used to design my own picture books. As I got older, I began trying to write short stories. During high school and college, I fell away from writing and ended up getting degrees in other things and becoming a middle school English teacher. Not long after that, I started writing a sci-fi book as a hobby. Nothing ever came of it, but it trained me up to write Succubus Blues. I sold it relatively quickly, and from there, I began writing my other series.
Where do you get your ideas from? Are your characters or books based on real life?
None of my characters or situations are based on anything in real life–it all comes from my head! That being said, the things in my head are fueled by the world around me. I do a lot of mythological research, and often that triggers an idea for a book (like how the Romanian myth of Strigoi and Moroi inspired Vampire Academy). Sometimes tiny little things I observe in the world will spark an idea too. Writing and story creating is so complex that there’s no one good answer to say where a book comes from.
I want to be a writer. Can I send you samples of my writing or tell you about my ideas?
No, I’m unable to read others’ writing or advise on stories/books. Please do not send them – you won’t get a response, and they will be deleted.😦

I want to be a writer. Can you give me writing advice or tell me how to get published?
Getting published is a complex process that would take pages to explain. Fortunately, author Holly Lisle has created pages to explain it! Check out her site here for a comprehensive FAQ

Do you know where I can find fan-fic of your books?
While fan-fic is flattering to authors, it’s not anything I can talk about or point you to for legal reasons.

Can we be pen pals?
While I love hearing from my readers, I’m afraid I’m unable to have a regular email exchange with anyone. Things are so busy right now that I can barely answer each person one time, let alone more than once, and I want to be fair to everyone. Writing my books takes up so much time, and I have to believe you’d rather read more of them than an email from me!

When can I read an excerpt of the next book?
I post the first chapter of each new book a month before release day. Sorry, no exceptions! Go to my books page, and click on the individual series. If a book has an excerpt available, it will say so.

Can you do an interview or answer questions for a school project?
Unfortunately, I am unable to do interviews or help with school projects, due to how busy my schedule is! Hopefully you can get some of the answers you need from this page. Please don’t count on me to answer in time. You won’t be able to complete the assignment.

If you did make a movie out of one of your books, who would your dream cast be?
I know this is a lame answer, but honestly, my characters are so unique to me that I can’t picture any actors who look like them! I’d probably need a cast of unknowns.

If there’s a Vampire Academy movie, can I be it? Will you let me audition?
Unfortunately, this is nothing I would have any control over! If there was a VA movie (and like I said, there are no plans right now), it would all be in the film company’s hands.

//


0 Responses to “Frequentes Questões Perguntadas a Richelle Mead”



  1. Deixe um comentário

Deixe uma resposta

